Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s the end of my 3rd week in St. Louis, and if I were a quanty MBA-type, I’d say that I can’t believe I’m 25% done with my internship. The other interns have begun referring to me as the “resident optimist” of our group, which I don’t mind one bit. You can call me Polly Positive.

Beyond work, which i’m loving, the summer adventures keep coming! Last weekend I was in Madison, WI for a non-traditional bachelorette party that included the Madison Farmer’s Market, a trip to the zoo and kayaking on Lake Wingra (I love being on the water, and actually remembered some techniques from kayaking lessons taken 15 years ago in Seattle). The festivities continued with dinner at an amazing organic restaurant. I still don’t know what Swiss Chard is for, but it sure is pretty.

Swiss Chard

This weekend has been extraordinary, as well. A new friend took me to visit the St. Louis Science Museum to see the fascinating Real Pirates exhibit. It’s over 200 artifacts, including guns, eating utensils, cannons and lots of real treasure, recovered from a 300 year old pirate shipwreck off the coast of Cape Cod. There are even some pieces of eight coins on display that you can touch, with the metalwork engraving intact after centuries underwater. Then, on a lark, we put our names in for the ticket lottery to see Wicked: The Untold Story of the Witches of Oz at The Fabulous Fox Theater – and won! Built in 1929, every single inch of the theater itself is decorated with elaborate carvings, colored glass, jewels, and gold leaf, including an elaborate 3-ton chandelier. I was captivated by the song and dance and costumes in the show, and suffice to say I’d like to travel by bubble wearing sparkly ballgowns (a la Glinda the Good) whenever possible.

The Fabulous Fox Theater

After ancient buried treasure and singing witches, what could possibly be next? I made it home from the theater with 10 minutes to spare before being whisked away by some of the interns to a local salsa bar. I don’t really know how to salsa, but one intern is quite accomplished and patient and kindly counted out loud (1-2-3, 1-2-3) until I sort of picked up the rhythm. I adore dancing. Very few things make me as purely happy as dancing does, and I always think – hey, I should do this more often. Luckily Miss MBA is coming to visit me next weekend and we’re planning to go again.

So, about that optimism thing – yeah, it’s working pretty well for me. I’m not sure if I’m optimistic because I’m having a great time, or I’m having a great time because I’m an optimist, but I highly recommend it either way!

