Tags

, ,

Something weird is happening. I’m actually starting to feel like I’m getting a good grounding in business concepts (!!!). The sneaky thing about Darden’s curriculum is it’s all integrated, so what we learn in one class is designed to also apply to other classes. Spiffy, right? I know you want to know what’s really going on, so I’ll start with Finance: my previous experience with foreign exchange (FX) was ogling the cutie FX traders on the elevator with me at work. One of those perks of working for a bank. But now! Now I can tell you a bit about using hedging instruments in international currency. Not a lot, but a bit. Enough to perhaps strike up a conversation with a cutie FX trader…

…which flows right into our Global Economies class, learning about international currency fluctuations and how monetary policy on one country’s level can affect other countries…and talking about why a multinational company might choose to price their products in one currency vs. another…

….which flows right into Strategy class (new this quarter!), where I’m learning frameworks to evaluate what a company does, why they do it, and how to sustain success…

…which flows right into Decision Analysis, to help scope and analyze hard business decisions.

See? Sneaky!! Lest you think all this learning is interrupting my extracurriculars, do not fret. I’ve been interviewing for jobs (nerve-wracking), helping wrangle the judges at the 4th Annual Darden Chili Cookoff (best secret chili ingredient: molasses!) and attending the Wine & Cuisine Club’s Wine, Beer & Spirits Industry Conference (new yummy wine: Moscato. And, did you know just how many great wineries Virginia has?). Also, Darden Student Association Elections are coming up – I’m running for Vice President of Social, to manage the Social Committee and the dozens (if not 100+) of social events for students. Finally, the Darden Outdoors Club Ski Trip is this weekend in Snowshoe, West Virginia. Those of you who recall me as a ski-lift ‘fraidy cat and less than elegant on a snowboard…. you’re right on both counts. But I love it, and can’t wait to play on the mountain!

