Tags

, ,

 Well, hello there, 2010. Aww, aren’t you an adorable little newborn year. So cute. Your big brother 2009 was a doozy, I hope you’re related – but only in the good ways.

So what’s this new  year about? As much as I love to measure and improve and progress, I’m not really a resolution person. A goal person? Yes. A theme person? Sure. Resolutions, not so much.  Doesn’t everyone want to be healthier, fitter, more charming and have higher net worth this year?  Thought so. Not to mention, volunteer more, get organized, and learn something new? All noble goals. Ok, presuming that baseline, what else will this year be about?

Practically speaking, the first half of the year is about actually getting a job (summer internship). Then, the second half of the year is doing a great job at said job, and either keeping that job (extending internship into job offer) or getting a handle on a different job opportunity. I’ve been asking people their take on interviews, what they look for when interviewing, how they handle prep and all that. The best advice I’ve gotten so far is:

A) Help the interviewers check the boxes – since all interviewers are looking to understand you in the context of particular questions.  Know the questions, have thoughtful, intelligent and revealing answers, and help them easily check things off their checklist. I think of it like Jerry Maguire: “Help Me Help You“.

"Help me help you!"

B) People are looking for someone they would like to work with. I can’t seem to find the Sally Field “You like me!” speech online, but you get the idea.

So, 2010: Year of The Job. Wait, no. I mean, yes, that needs to and will happen, but what’s beyond that? I’ve decided that my 2010 will be about trying to be my best self. It’s the kind of statement I’d typically discount upon hearing but secretly want to achieve, and then go back to trying to tone my thighs and have better posture.

I’ve just begun to explore and read about and personally define this idea: so far, the goal is more fully present and simply happy moments as the most sparkly and fabulous me, positive, open and easily compassionate, kind, centered and well. It’s a daunting goal, and yet also seems one of the most sensible and appealing I’ve ever had. Why would anyone want to be anything but their best self? And somehow I suspect my best self not only has trimmer thighs and better posture (if you like that kind of thing) but is also far, far better at life overall – including interviewing.

“Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.”  ~Judy Garland

