Tags

,

Q2 classes are over! And, in true Darden style, what do we do? We celebrate! This Friday was the Holiday Ball, aka Darden Prom, complete with a charity fundraiser auction. Truly my kind of event…. Cocktail dresses! Bow ties! Sparkly shoes! Utterly delightful, and a welcome break. I’m such a pushover for foofy dress up events and slow dancing.

Now it’s study time. On Monday, I’ll begin 5 days of exams, the last tasks before I can claim to be 25% done with my MBA. How weird is that? As a delightful study aid for upcoming exams, here’s a smattering of this quarter’s key learnings. Filtered through old-school hip-hop songs, since that’s what I’ve been listening to today while studying.

Finance: “Mo’ money, mo’ problems.” – Notorious B.I.G.

Global Economies: What happens to interest rates in the liquidity trap? They “slide, slide, slippity slide” – Coolio, “Fantastic Voyage”

Marketing: How do you extend a brand? “Don’t call it a comeback, I’ve been here for years” – LL Cool J

Accounting: Of course I agree with Puff Daddy that “it’s all about the Benjamins, baby”  – now if only I could figure out how to balance them…

Operations: How do you determine the capability of a process? “I’m the Cpk as you can see; I’ll show you how the process ought to be.” – sung to Ol’ Dirty Bastard, “Got Your Money”

I’m actually feeling better about Q2 exams than I did about Q1 exams – less fear of the unknown, but a touch more pressure since we’re expected to know and recall and (horrors!) apply what we learned in Q1 plus everything new in Q2. Fair? Hardly. The best part about Q2 exams? When they’re over, we get a fantastic five weeks off! Very excited to leave the Darden Bubble for DC, NYC and Chicago trips, and I’m already daydreaming of what to do with the extra time….think of the endless possibilities…

